Unplanning

Español

As I reminisce on this past year out of college I must say it has certainly not been what i expected. In my head I thought this break in between undergrad and graduate school would be filled with nonstop work that would allow me to feel like an adult earning a descent paycheck on a 9 to 5 daily basis, but then reality hit. The first 3 months consisted on continuous resume send out and several interviews with no hiring. The frustration grew and feeling like a failure was something I carried with me every day. Then I saw a light at the end of the tunnel when I found a job on Craigslist (out of all places) that would keep me occupied for 30 hours a week and would pay some good money. I felt like I finally made it, only to later realize it was not what I expected at all.

Needless to say my fundraiser gig didn’t last long, however I was able to transition to an opportunity closer to home for less hours but same pay rate which wasn’t so bad. This will however end with the school year and I will once again be in a transitional period. But instead of continuing dwelling on everything this year was NOT I rather emphasize all the good things a year off from college brought into my life and taught me.

I was able to travel to Vegas for the first time and I shared the experience with my dad, my grandma, and my aunt. This is a trip I’ll cherish forever. I’ve also been able to see my mom (who lives overseas) a total of 3 times and together we have created so many long-lasting memories that include deep conversations, sightseeing, and of course food. For half of that time I’ve also lived on my own and I must say it’s not exactly what everyone expects (more on that in another post). I’ve lost friendships I thought would last forever but I’ve also strengthen my bonds with others I didn’t consider that close. I was once again reunited with most of my family for the holidays in Florida and that is another experience I hold close to my heart. Last but certainly not least I’ve been able to experience love for the first time and it’s one of the most amazing experiences I’ve ever had.

All of these experiences brought countless lessons, but if there’s one that stands out is the fact that life rarely goes according to plan and sometimes having no plan IS the best plan. When I stop myself from stressing over the fact that I don’t have a big girl job, or a car, or other life experiences I realize that in this past year I’ve been happier than ever. I’ve actually learned how to enjoy simple things such as reading a whole book, spending an afternoon watching movies with my boyfriend, having a nice girls’ night at my house, or even blogging without feeling guilty because I’m not spending my time on more “adult” things. We keep worrying and rushing to be adults and then we forget how to enjoy the simple things in life. The way that I see it if it hasn’t happen yet maybe it’s just not the right time. Life continues to be very wise for me and time and time again shows me that everything happens for a reason, which is why this summer I’ll take it as it comes: with no plans, no schedule, and with a complete disposition to embrace whatever life throws my way.

– – – – – – –

Español

Mientras pienso en este ultimo año fuera de la universidad debo decir que no ha sido lo que esperaba. En mi mente veia este tiempo entre basico y postgrado lleno de trabajo a tiempo completo que me permitiria sentirme como un adulto ganando un salario decente de 9 a 5 diariamente, pero luego llego la realidad. Los primeros 3 meses consistieron en enviar mi curriculum a todos lados y varias entrevistas sin contrato. La frustracion crecio y sentirme como una perdedora era algo que llevaba conmigo todos los dias. Luego vi una luz al final del tunel cuando encontre un trabajo en Craigslist (de entre todos los lugares) que me permitiria mantenerme ocupada por 30 horas semanales y con un buen salario. Senti como que finalmente lo habia logrado, solo para luego darme cuenta que no era lo que esperaba en absoluto.

Sin mucho que decir mi trabajo como recaudadora de fondos no duro mucho, sin embargo logre transicionar a una oportunidad mas cerca de casa por menos horas pero misma paga lo cual no fue tan malo. Esta oportunidad sin embargo terminara con el año escular y nuevamente me encontrare en un periodo transicional. Pero en lugar de seguir enfocandome en todo lo que este año NO fue quiero enfocarme en todo lo bueno que trajo a mi vida y que me enseño.

Pude viajar a Las Vegas por primera vez y comparti la experiencia con mi papa, mi abuela, y mi tia. Este fue un viaje que valorare por siempre. Tambien logre ver a mi mama (quien vive en otro pais) un total de 3 veces y juntas creamos tantos buenos recuerdos que incluyen conversaciones profundas, visitas a nuevos lugares, y por supuesto comida. La mitad de este año vivi sola y debo decir que no fue lo que todos esperarian (mas de eso en otro post). He perdidio amistades que creia durarian para siempre pero tambien fortaleci lazos con otros que no consideraba tan cercanos. Nuevamente logre reunirme con la mayoria de mi familia para las fiestas en Florida y esta fue otra experiencia que llevo en mi corazon. Por ultimo pero definitivamente no menos importante he experimentado el amor por primera vez y debo decir que es una de las experiencias mas maravillosas que he tenido.

Todas estas experiencias trajeron muchas lecciones, pero si hay una que sobresale es el hecho de que la vida rara vez va acorde al plan y a veces el no tener un plan ES el mejor plan. Cuando me detengo y dejo de estresarme por no tener un trabajo importante, un auto, u otras experiencias de vida me doy cuenta de que en este año he sido mas feliz que nunca. He aprendido a disfrutar de las cosas sencillas como leer un libro entero, pasar una tarde viendo peliculas con mi novio, tener una noche de chicas en mi casa, e incluso bloggear sin sentirme culpable por no pasar mi tiempo en cosas mas “adultas”. Nos seguimos preocupando y apurando por ser adultos y se nos olvida disfrutar de las cosas sencillas de la vida. De la manera que lo veo si no ha pasado aun quizas no es el momento indicado. La vida continua siendo muy sabia para mi y una y otra vez me demuestra que todo pasa por una razon, por lo cual este verano lo tomare como venga: Sin planes, ni horarios, y con una completa disposicion de valorar lo que la vida me traiga.

Leave a Reply

