Treat Yourself

Español

Self-care, personal time, relaxation, however you want to call it, finding time to treat yourself is a must for everyone!

As a graduate full time student with an internship, a part time job, a blog, side projects, a boyfriend, friends, and family, scheduling some “me” time is something i’ve started working on. Interestingly, it’s not the time management that is the problem for me, but more the sense of guilt that comes with taking a day to myself.

I’m so used to doing things on my own because I want them a certain way, and because i’m so used to constantly being busy, it has almost become a joke that I could possibly have a day where no obligations are penciled in.

I’m working on understanding that the world won’t stop if I put my phone away for an hour or two so I can fully focus on those new netflix shows (Gypsy and Suits are my current obsessions). I also shouldn’t feel bad for telling my friends that I just want to stay in tonight rather than go bar hopping (although these days we have to work on making our schedules match for once).

There are multiple ways in which you can treat yourself like you would treat your significant other or a loved one. Read that book you bought last year, go buy that piece of cake you keep staring at every time you pass by the nearby bakery, watch that corny movie you can’t get anyone to watch with you, try a homemade face mask and light up some candles in your room. Whatever you decide to try, make sure it helps you relax and disconnect from the daily concerns and workload.

How about you? what kind of things do you do to treat yourself?

 – – – – – – – – – –

Español

Cuidarse a uno mismo, tiempo personal, relajación, como quieras llamarle, encontrar tiempo para consentirse es primordial para todos!

Siendo una estudiante de postgrado a tiempo completo con una pasantía, un trabajo de medio tiempo, un blog, proyectos personales, un novio, amigos, y familia encontrar tiempo de “mi” es algo en lo que he estado trabajando. Lo interesante es que el problema no es conseguir el tiempo para hacerlo, el problema es lidiar con ese sentimiento de culpa que conlleva tomarme un dia para mi.

Estoy tan acostumbrada a hacer las cosas por mi cuenta porque me gustan hechas de cierta manera, y como también estoy acostumbrada a mantenerme constantemente ocupada, ya se ha vuelto un chiste el que yo pueda tomarme un dia donde no existan obligaciones.

Estoy trabajando en entender que el mundo no va a detenerse solo porque me aleje del celular por un par de horas para poder concentrarme en esas series nuevas de netflix (Gypsy y Suits son mis favoritas actualmente). Tampoco debería sentirme mal por decirle a mis amigos que prefiero quedarme en casa esta noche en vez de ir a algún bar (aunque en estos días estamos tratando de coordinar horarios porque todos estamos super ocupados).

Hay muchas maneras en que puedes consentirte cómo consientes a tu pareja o a algún ser querido. Lee ese libro que compraste hace ya algún tiempo, comprate ese pedazo de torta que sigues viendo cada vez que pasas por la pastelería del vecindario, mira esa película romántica que no consigues ver con nadie mas, hazte un facial casero y prende un par de velas en tu habitación. Lo que sea que hagas, asegúrate de que te ayude a relajarte y desconectarte del estrés y las cargas del dia a dia.

Y tú, qué tipo de cosas haces para consentirte?

Leave a Reply

